Meaning behind the name

One day at a time – this is enough! Do not look back and grieve over the past for it is gone; and do not be troubled about the future, for it has yet to come. Live in the present, and make it so beautiful it will be worth remembering. – Ida Scott Taylor


I was able to travel home over Mother’s Day weekend, and it was likely to be my last trip to STL for quite some time due to all the upcoming events. I am a somewhat emotional person by nature, but this entire situation has multiplied those emotions tenfold. Kind words, thoughtful gestures, or even just a hug can leave me in tears. I can’t blame it on my friend wine, but believe hormones must be playing a part!

It was your typical evening at my parents’ home (1235) in beautiful little Glendale, MO. I miss this place and the people I love more than words could ever appropriately describe. These nights consist of the Kennedy family and our dearest of friends, plenty of laughs and love, amazing food prepped by my dear mother, too many drinks, and quality entertainment of some sort…normally my dad trying to be a Jersey Boy or Grammy singing her favorite Blurred Lines while mocking Meggie’s dance moves. And NO Grammy does NOT know the words or meaning behind the song! My parents’ door is always open to everyone, and their love of entertaining is something I find so special about them!

Home!

Home!

It is so important for me to see as many as I can during my quick visits home. Being that it is quite impossible for me to spend time with each and every friend, it is easiest to gather at 1235. On this night in particular, many were able to come by, including my great friend April. It was her birthday, yet she walked in the door with a present for me?! Confused. I could see the box came from her second home, aka Anthropology. She prefaced the gift by saying, “It’s just a little something, and I know you love making lists, you will have a lot going on, tons of appointments that you’ll need to write down, and you really want to start a blog.” I am super weird about opening gifts in front of others. I hate when attention is on me, but wanted to be sure I opened it before she left. What was in the box was so so very kind and perfectly thoughtful…a journal entitled jaunts & journeys, as well as Today to-do Lists. For many days I couldn’t even bring myself to read what she had written on the inside page of the journal. When I finally did, emotions took over. Included was the quote at the top of this post.

IMG_6174

Weeks had gone by, and I still hadn’t thought of a name that fit the vibe I was going for in this blogging endeavor. Between what April had written in the journal and what she later texted, a couple titles stood out including “Adventures Experienced, not yet Enjoyed” and “Happiness is a Journey” as well as “Someday Soon.” Then right in front of my eyes, it occurred to me… jaunts & journeys…just as shown on the cover. Yes, that was it!!! While she was texting me the words of encouragement I so needed, my heart was racing, and I had a tear or two in my eye. This was actually coming to fruition. I was ready to be entirely open and transparent and to begin sharing our life with anyone wanting to listen.

IMG_6173

For those that do not know, Chris and I met on a flight when I was en route home from San Diego after a trip with April to visit her brother. That story will have to wait for another day! So thank you, yet again April, for playing a huge role in this adventure we call life! I am grateful for you always.

In addition…HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to my fabulous parents. On June 26th they celebrated 39 years of marriage!! I am thankful for those vows said back in 1976! I sincerely appreciate they have done, and continue to do, for us kids. I treasure the incredible relationship we have and miss them every minute. Here’s to many, many more Mom and Dad!! Love you forever!

Pammy and Ricardo in 1976 & the Kennedys in 2014

Pammy and Ricardo in 1976 & the Kennedys in 2014

Sometimes the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess. Just breathe, and have faith that everything will work out for the best. – Robert Tew

4 thoughts on “Meaning behind the name

  1. Dear Sweet Kacey, I too pray for you and Chris and know in my heart that God is working on a very special miracle for you. I don’t know if you know that I had a stressful time getting pregnant the first time (14 months) seemed like 14 years. The drs were going to start testing after Christmas and wouldn’t you know that’s the month I got pregnant. No one could have been more happy – I miscarried at 5 months and had to go through the whole labor and delivery 😦 Anyway after a couple of months, God did work a very special miracle for me – her name was Tracy. Just try to be patient and enjoy every day of this journey and know that your miracle will arrive on it’s own timeline. Much Love Barb

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kacey & Chris,
    As you pour your heart out to us in this blog I want you to know that I along with many, pray for you every day. Unlike most, I know the emptiness that you are feeling so stay positive and remember this is a marathon, not a sprint. From the bottom of my heart I wish you the best in every single thing that you do weather it be a procedure, blood work, taking your temperature or simply following Dr.’s. Do not give up and GOD’s plan is your future.
    Love you guys!
    e

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eileen! Oh my goodness. Your message brought me to tears! THANK YOU! Although we have never met, your thoughts, prayers, kind words, and true understanding honestly mean so much to me. I am so thankful to have you along with us on this journey because you are right, only a few really can empathize with the emptiness. Please keep the prayers coming, you are a wonderful, wonderful person!! Love to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

