Pain, Pain Go Away

Thank you to a dear friend for sharing :)

Thank you to a dear friend for sharing.

To begin…

As many of you may have learned through experience, we are forced to be entirely noncommittal during this time in our lives. We never know what tomorrow will bring. Sadly, we have and will continue to miss out on social gatherings, weddings, family functions, and so on. As much as it pains and guilts me, we have to focus on us and our future family. Thank you for your patience with us as we travel on this crazy, unpredictable IVF journey.


Old news, but wanted to share — I was instructed to refrain from activities once I began stimulation medication on 7/20. Walking was ok, but I needed to take it easy on all levels. The stimulation meds help ovarian follicles grow, and they will eventually become quite large. Bloating and discomfort are common side effects. As an extra precaution, it is recommend to be overly cautious when turning, bending and so on as ovaries can get twisted. This happens in a tiny percentage of people, but it is possible, so it is brought to our attention. Medical name Ovarian Torsion.

So back to the discomfort, turned pain I mentioned in my last post. Well it kicked in Saturday (7/25) and lingered. It wasn’t constant, and it wasn’t excruciating, but it was there and very annoying. I found it strange that I felt worse once we had canceled the cycle and stopped the meds.

I kept playing in my head all I had done which would potentially cause this. I visited the chiropractor – did something happen there? Did I overdo it on the light stretching? Seriously I was playing every scenario in my mind, as I had pretty much diagnosed myself. I knew I had large follicles on the right, and even though I was not on medication, it was expected they would continue growing.

I was laying on the beach, Chris in the water fine tuning his surfing skills. I had done everything I could to avoid Google, but my willpower did not sustain. I cringed as I typed and nearly threw up when I started reading. The symptoms and side effects of Ovarian Torsion were spot on with what I was feeling! What would this mean? Surgery to remove ovaries? As I have shown in the past, I have a pretty darn good read on my body. My mind was freaking. Deep breaths, Kacey.

Over the course of the next few days, the pain got worse, and was shooting down my left leg. There was a pinching feeling. I wasn’t hungry, felt nauseous, light headed, etc. Simple tasks such as walking, using the restroom, breathing, laying, sitting, pretty much everything was painful. I am not exaggerating when I say that with EVERY step I took, I felt this uncomfortable feeling in my lower abdomen and groin area. I was convinced something was severely wrong with my insides. I hoped and thought it would go away. Sunday, Monday and Tuesday were worse. I called our doctor’s office. Dori asked if I wanted to come in for an Ultrasound. She said, “For all you have been through, I would feel comfortable with you coming in.”

I knew that in order for me to feel better mentally, I needed an ultrasound and professional opinion as I was driving myself insane. The appointment was Wednesday (7/29) morning, Chris and I actually made it on time. I didn’t care what the cost was or how outrageous I was being, I wanted to hear “all is ok!” Chris had dealt with crazy Kacey for days, now it was Dr. Garzo’s turn, as Dr. F was out.

Current enemy. Hopefully one day soon, we will see great news.

Hopefully one day soon, I will enjoy looking at this screen!

Dr. G was so kind and patient. He understood my concerns. Turns out, all was ok! My ovaries and follicles were large with numerous normal-ish cysts that should go away. Apparently since we stopped the meds the ovaries “get a mind of their own.” He demanded I take it very easy to avoid any damage. Thank God. I could breathe again. I need to remind myself of my mantra below!

Starting just a few days ago, I began to feel better. I wouldn’t say I feel 100% normal just yet, but I think I am almost there! As of now, we are playing the infamous and ever so popular waiting game. I am getting great at practicing patience, which has NEVER been a quality of mine. I am expecting the fun time of the month soon, and we will get this show back on the road!

Stress and negativity are my current worst enemies, but the love, support, and encouragement we have felt from so many really, really helps! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

My best to each of you, always! Xo


Sometimes the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess. Just breathe, and have faith that everything will work out for the best. – Robert Tew

2 thoughts on “Pain, Pain Go Away

Leave a Reply

