And Then There Were Three…(embryos)

From what I could tell on social media, it seems people across the country had beautiful sunsets last night. This was our cotton candy sky 10.25.15

From what I could tell on social media, it seems people across the country had beautiful sunsets last night. This was our cotton candy sky 10.25.15

A few minutes before the pink took over on 10.25.15

A few minutes before the pink and purple took over on 10.25.15

I hope everyone had a great weekend! My weekend was absolutely made on Friday at 3:25p!

I see Reproductive Partners calling my cell. I kid you not, my body begins shaking, an anxiety headache kicks in, and I answer the phone in a fake, peppy way thinking this could possibly alter the news about to be delivered.

[As you may remember, we had 7 embryos tested. 2 came back normal, 4 came back abnormal, and 1 had to be retested.]

Hi, this is Kacey” in my annoying, nervous voice. I clearly knew who was calling and the reason for their call.

On the line was an embryologist, maybe named Lynn?, and Dr. Garzo. Similar to last time, the embryologist spoke in a positive, calm, and REALLY slow manner. She said something along the lines of, “We have the results of your embryo…” Hurry the heck up and deliver the news already!

The one being retested was the one good quality embryo, but I was not holding my breath on it coming back normal, as looks can be deceiving in this business.

I seriously cannot remember if Lynn or Dr. Garzo delivered the news, but I heard the word NORMAL!!!!!!!!!!!

Our little retested embryo is genetically NORMAL! I couldn’t, and still can’t, believe it. Thankfully I was at the office alone as tears instantly came to my eyes, and a giant smile took over my face! I was shaking and couldn’t stop. They asked if I wanted to know the gender to which I politely declined. I thanked them for making my weekend!

While on the phone with RPMG, Chris texted saying his group just “landed a huge listing, nice way to end the week.” I thought, NOPE, just wait until you hear the news I have!!!

This was one of the most incredible phone calls I have received.

And then there were THREE...perfectly created, genetically healthy, little embryos waiting to enter this world!

In this instance, THREE seems MUCH greater than two, and I am SO very thankful!

A few weeks back, my mom gave this particular embryo a name. She said, “It will be the leader. I am naming it Lou. Neutral name, but a fighter.” She was right. This precious embryo was created, biopsied, frozen, thawed, biopsied, and frozen, my gosh! I hope one day I will get to share this incredible, miraculous story of creation with a little human!

My fortune on Saturday evening. This seems perfectly fitting!

My fortune on Saturday evening. This seems perfectly fitting!

This whole infertility and IVF process has made me delusional at times, my mind can be taken over with crazy at any given point. Example – after receiving the call on Friday, doubts entered my mind. I began thinking…Did I hear them correctly, maybe they said abnormal?? I caved to this craziness, and emailed Dori to double check. Nuts, I know. She confirmed the embryo was indeed normal. THANK GOD!

We celebrated with a steak dinner at home followed by frozen yogurt at a favorite spot of ours. In my head I was drinking champagne, not water…about as thrilling as it gets these days!


Regrettably (for Chris), I was oddly cranky on and off all weekend. I hated the way I was acting at times, but couldn’t help it. Blame it on the hormones I suppose. I took my last birth control pill on Saturday evening and will apply the last round of testosterone gel tomorrow morning. I have had this weird, twinge like pain going on, specifically on my lower right side. I sincerely hope I am not ovulating (it is possible on birth control) or do not have a cyst. The worrying doesn’t stop.

Saturday was a busy morning – We dropped my car for an oil change, and then went to the vet again. [Excuse me while I talk about my child for a moment.] Poor puppy had elevated liver enzymes a couple weeks back. Another blood draw was necessary to check on these. She also was due for the Lepto vaccine. Thankfully, her levels came back normal this time! We found out at the previous appointment, she has arthritis and should not play fetch or participate in intense activity any longer. She has had a limp for a while, and it is not going away. This kills me, as she is only 5.5 years old and fetch is her obsession, seriously her absolute favorite thing.

We are in a testing period where we have had to put away all balls and cannot allow her to do ANYTHING, with the exception of walking on leash. I was told to take notes on how she is responding to the rest and medication. Additionally, her allergies have been out of control, gnawing at her feet nonstop to the point where they would bleed, then causing infection. Her ears have been bothering her too. So as of now, she is on allergy meds, pain meds, joint meds, hypoallergenic dog food, ear wash, prescription shampoo, you name it. I had to create a schedule with her meds, baths, etc. We have to cut back on the amount of food (at least we will save a couple pennies here) we are giving her since she has gained weight due to the lack of exercise. This pup has cost me/us an arm and a leg, but I wouldn’t trade her for the world. Some of you may think this blog is more about my dog than our IVF journey, and you just may be right some days! Thanks for tolerating.

Between Reese and I, we are on about 15 pills a day, which will quickly change to 20 here in a couple days!

Between Reese and I, we are on about 15 pills a day, which will quickly change to 20 here in a couple days!

As if the vet visit wasn’t enough fun, we were off to Men’s Warehouse for Chris to purchase a suit for an upcoming wedding he is in. I think we spent a solid 1.5 hours and too much money there. Only in Southern California is it ok for a dog to be a part of the fun. My car was ready to be picked up, and so were some Juanita’s breakfast burritos. This place has bars on the windows and looks like a dump, but has some pretty incredible food!

Observing the action at Men's Warehouse.

Observing the action at Men’s Warehouse.

[Random] Unfortunately mine was decaf, but I HIGHLY recommended Starbucks new Toasted Graham Latte.

[Random] Unfortunately mine was decaf, but I HIGHLY recommended Starbucks new Toasted Graham Latte. I am doing my best to pretend it is fall-like here.

Home was our next destination, and the sun was calling my name and Walking Dead was calling Chris’. [I have heard the show is amazing, but I can’t even stand the sounds coming from the TV when he watches it.] It was an extremely relaxing afternoon which was needed! At sunset, we went to Carlsbad State Beach for Chris to have a surf session, Reese and I walked the campground since dogs aren’t allowed on the beach in Carlsbad. Here are some pics from Saturday evening…

IMG_0764

Chris had just walked down this path to surf, and Reese wasn’t thrilled. Unfortunately, dogs aren’t allowed on most beaches here. Stupid law if you ask me.

Sunset selfie with my pup.

Sunset selfie with my pup.

True love ha.

10.24.15 Pano from Carlsbad Campground

10.24.15 Pano from Carlsbad Campground. Chris is out there somewhere on the right.

Sunday was equally busy...with football...Luckily I am a fan, as is Reese! Go Broncos and Rams!

Sunday was equally busy…with football…Lucky for Chris, I am a fan, as is Reese! Here she is with her Broncos blanket 😉

As mentioned in the last post, next up on the IVF calendar is an ultrasound and blood work tomorrow, Tuesday 10.27 at 11:30a. If everything checks out well with no cysts/abnormalities and normal Estrogen levels…I would begin the stimulation medication Wednesday 10/28 with a tentative retrieval between November 8th and 11th. I really, really hope my body responds the same way as cycle one, but as we have been told, each cycle can be different. I pray the plan stays on track!! My love to you all! Xo

Gotta give Chris credit for bringing home a festive bouquet for me! (Ignore the creepy witch!)

Gotta give Chris credit for bringing home a festive bouquet for me! (Ignore the creepy witch!)


Sometimes the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess. Just breathe, and have faith that everything will work out for the best. – Robert Tew

2 thoughts on “And Then There Were Three…(embryos)

  1. Pingback: Stim Med – Day 6 Appt. | jaunts & journeys

  2. Pingback: Cycle #2 has officially begun! | jaunts & journeys

Leave a Reply

